A short history of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Mount Pleasant – owned and operated by the same family since 1938.
1938 - Mount Pleasant Farm is purchased from Rossington Hall Estates by Thomas Stocks & Alice Maude. The family were a long established company of local builders of which Thomas Stocks was one of the sons. Alterations to the Farmhouse commences to create more bedrooms.
1939 - Full operation as an hotel commences and with large parts of the buildings and land continuing to operate as a farm; uniquely the hotel has its own Victoria Dairy Herd. The Hotel has 10 Rooms in the main building and a further 8 rooms in an annexe, with one bathroom shared by all.
Mary Victoria and William James McIlroy FRCVS
1958 – The hotel passes to the next (second) generation of the family, Mary Victoria and William James McIlroy who commence a programme of rolling refurbishment.
1982 – Rooms 201 to 204 are added above the original hotel building in addition to the first conference room, the Alice Maud Room and a small bar. These bedrooms are the first real en suite rooms within the hotel.
1984 - A link is formed from the main hotel to the adjoining sheds and workshops and the sheds are converted to form the rooms 138 to 146. The hotel achieves AA recognition and is awarded 3 Star status.
1984-92 - During these years the running of the hotel passes to the third generation of the family and the four children of Mary Victoria and William James McIlroy take over as Directors. One of the four, Richard McIlroy, takes on the day to day operations as Managing Director.
A rolling programme of refurbishment and structural alterations commences and the first of the unique, spacious bedrooms which have become such an integral part of the hotel were created.
1996 - Thomas Stocks function room is added alongside the Alice Maude room which doubles the size of function numbers the hotel can now do. The room has a dividing portable wall which gives the room dual purpose and size.
1998 - A further building project, with the footprint for all future new bedrooms being set as considerably larger than is ‘average’ in hotels. Rooms 151 to 157 are built and the large bedrooms become part of the unique offering at the hotel.
1999 – Conversion of the Barn creates a large apartment, Room 275, adding to the growing list of the hotel’s unique selling points.
2002 - Rooms 160 to 170 are added continuing with the larger rooms.
2004 - The hotel opens a new conference & banqueting suite now being able to cater for up to 160 in one room, but with the interconnecting rooms this could be up to 280 people.
2004 - Rooms 165 to 169 & 276 to 279 are added with 2 four poster rooms, a five poster room and a unique bed with Indian Teak pillars, all built with that extra large footprint that is uniquely Mount Pleasant. The hotel has a successful year gaining Investors in People, the AA assessment is rated at 67% which re-grades the hotel as 4 Star and one Rosette is awarded to the restaurant. These awards are in recognition of the time, money and service levels which have been achieved by the hotel.
2006 - A further 12 bedrooms and 3 Health & Beauty Treatment Rooms are added to the hotel portfolio, the new rooms reflect the new 4 Star status and keep the unique Mount Pleasant size, offering full walk-in wholly glass showers, granite walls, Kohler ceramics, LCD TV’s and unique antique furniture. The next AA assessment reflects the quality and service improvements and the hotel is graded 77%.
In addition the hotel makes an investment to offset the hotels carbon footprint and enforce energy efficiency by putting an Induction cooking range in the kitchen. This has made a real difference to the hotel’s energy usage.
2007 - Work commences in February on an extensive new reception, secondary bar area and new lounge space. This extension dramatically changes the whole frontage of the hotel and gives a much grander entrance to the whole property.
Refurbishment of the 8 cottages brings them up to the standards offered within the main hotel.
The annual AA quality assessment sees the hotel graded as 78%, 4 Star, with one Rosette for dining quality; this is currently the highest grading within all South Yorkshire 4 Star Hotels.
2008 – Completion of new reception, Lounge and Bar area, which changes the front façade of the whole building creating a grand entrance with sweeping stone pillars and glass. Comfortably furnished with elegant leather sofas and individual glass chandeliers.
The hotel gains Premier status within Best Western and is now one of 100 properties worldwide to have gained this status
Completion of the new Function Bar, named the The Faugh- a – Ballagh Bar in memory of the current owners’ grandfather, Thomas Stocks, who was a member of The Royal Irish Fusiliers during WW1. The war cry they used when going into battle means ‘clear the way’.
2009 – The Hotel receives its greatest award to date and is crowned Hotel Of the Year at the prestigious White Rose Awards by Welcome to Yorkshire at the annual awards dinner in front of 1000 people at The Royal Armouries Museum, Leeds.
The Sanctuary Spa Bedroom suite opens, this being the first of a series of rooms which are to be developed to offer unique bathrooms, each with a special twist; this one has its very own 2 person Sauna and double Jacuzzi bath.
2011 – Hotel receives its highest ever AA rating of 80%. The second in the series of luxury Spa Bathrooms uniquely this has a 5ft copper bath, double sauna with a fabulous four post bed, and luxurious lounge area.